English Reflections, Symphony Hall


Saturday, 17th May 2014 at 7:30pm; Symphony Hall, Centenary Square, Birmingham B1 2EA.

Hannah Grove – soprano
Thomas Guthrie – baritone
City of Birmingham Choir
Birmingham Philharmonic Orchestra
Adrian Lucas – conductor

Elgar: King Arthur Suite
Holst: Hymn of Jesus
Vaughan Williams: Dona nobis pacem

The Best of British
Experience English music from three iconic composers of the twentieth century. From Vaughan Williams’ evocative call for peace – Dona nobis pacem – to Holst’s Hymn of Jesus, a setting of ancient Gnostic texts, the City of Birmingham Choir will bring alive these composers’ searching for some resolution to the conflict of World War 1. The third composer is Elgar, whose King Arthur Suite, incidental music to a play by Laurence Binyon (one of the most famous writers associated with the First World War), embodies the essential Englishness of all three of these diverse music-makers.

A City of Birmingham Choir / Birmingham Philharmonic Orchestra promotion

« Back to the calendar