Reflections – music for Lent, Lichfield Cathedral

Saturday, 2nd March 2024 at 7:00pm; Lichfield Cathedral, The Close, Lichfield WS13 7LD.

Buy tickets

‘Reflections’ – music for Lent
Lichfield Cathedral, Saturday 2 March 2024 at 7pm

Haydn – Stabat Mater
Bach – Cantata no. 12 – Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen
Albinoni – Adagio in G minor for strings and organ

City of Birmingham Choir
Orchestra of the Musical and Amicable Society
Adrian Lucas conductor
Hannah Davey soprano
Nina Vinther alto
Simon Wall tenor
Alex Ashworth bass

Tickets from and search for City of Birmingham Choir or via link from choir website Adults £20, Students £10, Under 16s free.

The City of Birmingham Choir is pleased to be making its first visit to Lichfield Cathedral, bringing a programme of choral music for Lent, complemented by the much-loved Albinoni Adagio for strings and organ. They will be joined by four soloists and the orchestra of the Musical and Amicable Society.

Haydn’s Stabat Mater, a musical gem, is set to the familiar medieval poem reflecting on the Virgin Mary, as she stands witnessing the Crucifixion. The choir and orchestra will be joined for this powerful and emotive piece by the four soloists.

JS Bach’s Cantata no. 12 is another 18th century choral setting of Lenten text – ‘weeping, lamenting, worrying, fearing’. This cantata features alto, tenor and bass soloists who will perform this wonderful work alongside the choir and orchestra.

« Back to the calendar